Each year, the Veterans of Foreign Wars selects emergency medical technicians, law enforcement and firefighter personnel to receive VFW Public Servant Awards.



Entries submitted to Post by December 1st

Post entries to District by December 15th

District entries to Department by January 1st 

The Department will select a single candidate for each of the three awards and submit those to VFW National Headquarters by February 1st.


Eligible candidates for each award are as follows:


VFW National Emergency Medical Technician Public Servant Citation:

Any individual, who actively gives emergency medical treatment, provides rescue service or civil disaster assistance as a member of any public or volunteer company organized to give emergency medical care, provide rescue and civil disaster assistance to our nation’s citizens.


VFW National Law Enforcement / 911 Operator Citation:

Any individual who serves in a municipal, county, state or federal unit tasked with enforcement of the laws pertaining to their area of responsibility. This award does not apply to individual employed by private companies or security services.


VFW National Firefighters Public Servant Citation:

Any individual who actively fights fires as a member of any public or volunteer company organized to fight fires and give assistance to our nation’s citizens.


Criteria for these awards – Candidates must have demonstrated:

1) Recognition by their colleagues or those they serve.

2) Consistent excellence in the performance of their duties

3) Consistent dedication to their official responsibilities over a period of years and continuous growth in responsibilities and skills within their profession.


Documentation required for all Candidates

1) Entry Form

2) Nomination letter containing the candidate’s name, title, address, telephone

              A) include justification outlining background in field, accomplishments and awards



District Safety Chairmen should send nominations by mail with ALL CRITERIA to Department Headquarters to arrive no later than January 1st.


Award Entry Form (Post)